The Suncoast Chapter is a dynamic fusion between two leading industry communities in West Florida, Manatee and Sarasota Counties. The unification of these chapters has augmented the core mission of the Chapter of fostering the growth of the future industry workforce and establishing a leading business culture for government affairs. FRLA’s Suncoast Chapter is dedicated to protecting your business, promoting your industry and educating your current and future employees.

Joining the Suncoast Chapter is a great opportunity to connect with industry contemporaries, stay informed on important issues that impact your business and to actively participate in ensuring continued growth for the hospitality industry.

The Suncoast Chapter is proud to have two board members win the prestigious National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation’s Restaurant Neighbor Award for their commitment to community service and the incredible impacts they have made in the industry.

  • Anna Maria Oyster Bar, John Horne – 2018 Recipient
  • Gecko’s Hospitality Group, Mike Quillen – 2017 Recipient

Gain valuable exposure and recognition through our events, website, and partnerships with hospitality operators, staff, and students.  Join us for our next event and get connected!

For more information about getting involved with the Suncoast Chapter, or becoming a member of the FRLA, contact Dannette Lynch
– Impactful Keynote Speakers
– Networking and Social events at great restaurants, hotels and other venues
– Educational Sessions
– Signature Event: Annual Chapter Luncheon with FRLA Chairman of the Board
– Annual Sporting Clay Shoot
– Florida Tourism Day

Educational Series

Florida DBPR Secretary, Jonathan Zachem


Check out our upcoming events on the calendar below. You can also find our events on the FRLA Facebook page. #FRLASuncoast #JoinFRLA

Chapter Events

Chapter Director(s)

Suncoast Regional Director

Dannette Lynch
Email the Director

Chapter Leadership

Mary Beth Hansen, Paradise Grill

State Board Chapter Representatives
Gil Reyes, The Westin, Sarasota
Michael Quillen, Gecko’s Hospitality Group

Educational Foundation Board
Gil Reyes, Westin Sarasota Hotel
Mary Beth Hansen, Paradise Grill

PAC Board
John Horne, Anna Maria Oyster Bar
Michael Quillen, Gecko’s Hospitality Group


Nello Allegrucci, Metz Culinary Management

Rob Brown, Atlas Insurance

Dean Defebo, IMG

Marcia Dmochowski, Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Mary Beth Hansen, Paradise Grill

Shaun Hasty, Sysco Foods

John Horne, Anna Maria Oyster

Dana Johnson, Savory Scenes

Jeff Johnson, Pepsi

Okan Karadag, Art Ovation Hotel

Susan Kopstad, Seabreeze Coffee

Michael Moench, Keiser Univesity


Patrick Moreo, USF – Sarasota Manatee

Damien O’Riordan, Ritz Carlton

Mike Quillen, Gecko’s Grill & Pub

Crystal Rivera, The Sarasota Modern

Sandy St. John, Speed King Signs

John Strother, Republic National Distributors