Broward County Hospitality Students and Teachers to be Honored at Gala

(Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) – The Broward Chapter of the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association (FRLA) is proud to celebrate schools, instructors and students at its 8th Annual Excellence in Education Gala scheduled for Wednesday, April 26, 2017. The event, designed to support local hospitality education in area high schools, is slated to take place at the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. A total of $30,000 in scholarships will be presented.

The evening’s festivities will also feature Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano and include live musical entertainment by Johnny Sax, and VoicePlay, as seen on NBC’s “The Sing-Off.” A portion of the proceeds from the event will benefit the FRLA Educational Foundation (FRLAEF).

The FRLAEF provides school-to-career training for 30,000 hospitality students representing more than 250 high schools statewide. Designed to increase the quality and employability of graduates, the program uses an industry-derived curriculum through Florida ProStart and the HTMP. With a focus on the future of Florida’s hospitality industry, these programs allow students to learn and showcase skills that can be used in foodservice and lodging.

The following award winners will be recognized:

ProStart School of the Year

Atlantic Technical High School, Coconut Creek

HTMP School of the Year

Blanche Ely High School, Pompano Beach

ProStart Teacher of the Year

Aruna Lien, Coral Springs High School, Coral Springs

HTMP Teacher of the Year

Mitch Albert, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland

ProStart Scholarship Winners

Lauren Rosengarten, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Gloria Louis, J.P. Taravella High School

Samantha Feinberg, Coral Springs High School

Katherine Cohen, Plantation High School

Mhina John Baptiste, Atlantic Technical High School

HTMP Scholarship Winners

Linda Mujica, South Broward High School

Tashae Munnings, South Broward High School

Julie DeFinis, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Brandon Popescu, South Broward High School

Michael Weisman, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Media is invited to attend this event, details are as follows:

WHAT: FRLA Broward Chapter’s 8th Annual FRLA Broward Excellence in Education Gala


Special Guest: Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano

Dinner Entertainment: VoicePlay

Reception Entertainment: Johnny Sax


Wednesday, April 26, 2017

5:00 – 6:30 PM: Reception and Silent Auction

6:30 – 9:00 PM: Dinner and Awards Presentation


Marriott Harbor Beach Resort and Spa

3030 Holiday Drive

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316


$139 Per Person

$49 for Instructors/Principals/Students

$1,600 VIP Reserved Seating (Table of 10)

Tickets can be purchased here. For sponsorship information, click here or contact FRLA Broward Chapter Director, Anne Sallee, at For media RSVP, please contact Erin Power, FRLA Press Secretary at 850.224.2250 x255 or by email at