(October 17, 2013) Effective January 1, 2014, Florida’s minimum wage will increase from $7.79 to $7.93, with a minimum wage of at least $4.91 per hour for tipped employees. The minimum wage rate is recalculated yearly based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1, 2012. On November 2, 2004, Florida voters approved a constitutional amendment which created Florida’s minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the federal minimum wage. Florida Statutes require employers who must pay their employees the Florida minimum wage to post a minimum wage notice in a conspicuous and accessible place in each establishment where these employees work. This poster requirement is in addition to the federal requirement to post a notice of the federal minimum wage. Florida’s minimum wage poster is available for downloading in English and Spanish from the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity’s website at: http://www.floridajobs.org. For more information please click here.