FRLA Welcomes New Chairman of the Board

[Tallahassee, Fla] The Florida Restaurant & Lodging Association (FRLA) is proud to announce Sheldon Suga as the 2020 Chairman of the Board. Suga, the Vice President and Managing Director of Hawks Cay Resort, began serving as FRLA’s new chairman effective Sept. 15. He presides over FRLA, one of the state’s largest trade associations representing more than 10,000 members in the hospitality industry.

“Sheldon Suga is a demonstrated leader who has devoted his entire career to providing an exceptional lodging experience,” said Carol Dover, FRLA CEO and President. “He is highly regarded in the hospitality industry, and FRLA is extremely fortunate to have a professional of his stature lead our association through the rest of 2019 and 2020. We’re excited at the opportunity to have Sheldon serve alongside our 2020 Executive Committee and confident the Association will continue to flourish under his incredible leadership.”

Suga is an industry veteran with more than 35 years of industry experience. He found a passion for the industry at 16 years old while working as a room clerk in Niagara Falls, Canada, and began his degree of Hospitality Management at Ryerson University. After graduation, he was accepted into ITT Sheraton’s General Management Training program. During his time with Sheraton, Suga served as general manager at properties around the country and as country manager in Tokyo. With vast industry experience, Suga has been overseeing the Hawks Cay Resort, in the Florida Keys, for more than a decade.

“I am proud to have the opportunity to serve as Chairman of the Board for Florida’s premier non-profit hospitality trade association,” said Suga. “It’s a special feeling and I look forward to another year of working with FRLA and seeing an outstanding year for Florida’s hospitality industry.”

In addition to previously serving as the Chapter President of the FRLA Monroe County Chapter and most recent Vice President of the Board, Suga is also a member and past chair of the District III Advisory Committee of the Monroe County Tourist Development Council.